AGM 2019 Proceedings

Jurys Inn Hotel, 245 Broad Street, Birmingham

Jurys Inn Hotel, Birmingham

The 92nd RSGB AGM was held in Birmingham on Saturday 27 April 2019.

•  Resolution 1: To receive and, if approved, confirm Minutes of the 91st Annual General Meeting held on 21 April 2018 at the Jurys Inn Hotel, Birmingham: Motion carried.

To receive and consider the accounts for the period 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2018 and the reports of the Board and the Auditor.

•  Resolution 2: To appoint Auditors Sayer Vincent and to authorise the Board to fix their remuneration: Motion carried. 

•  Resolution 3: To endorse Dr Chris Callicott, G4DJJ as a Nominated Director of the RSGB to serve until the 2022 AGM: Duly endorsed.

•  In addition, the following were elected unopposed:

  • Elected Board Director
    Mike Bruce, M0ITI
  • Elected Board Director
    Ian Shepherd, G4EVK

•  Special Resolution 4: To amend the Article of Association No. 34 as follows:

Regional Representatives will, unless removed, remain in office for three years from the date of their election. Three years in office will be called a “Term”. Regional Representatives may serve two consecutive Terms but shall retire at the end of their second consecutive Term; provided that the Board shall have the power to waive this requirement if it considers that it is in the best interests of the Society that the incumbent shall complete a third or subsequent Term: Motion carried.

•  Special Resolution 5: To amend the Articles of Association as follows:

32. Board Members
Unless otherwise stated at the date of appointment, elected and nominated Board members shall initially hold office for three years. Such Board members may serve two consecutive Terms but must leave the Board at the end of their second consecutive Term for a period of at least one year. After one year, if elected, they may serve for a similar period as a new Board member or President; or they maybe appointed to the Board under Article 37. Members appointed under Article 37 shall retire at the end of their period of appointment, after which they may (subject to term limits) stand for election or nomination: Motion carried.

33. The President
The President will be appointed to office by election by the Members. The President shall hold the office for two years, save where there are exceptional circumstances to meet a specific need as determined by the Board, where the appointment as President may be extended for a further year.
If the office of President is vacant, or the elected President is indisposed and unable to fulfil the role of President, the Board shall have the power to co-opt a person it considers suitable for such a period as appears to the Board to be appropriate provided that the period shall end not later than the date of the next AGM. Completion of a two or three year Term of office as President shall complete the relevant Term on the Board. Where this was the first Term, the retiring President may stand for election again as a Board member for a second three year Term: Motion carried.

35. Maximum Service on the Board
A Board member may, therefore, complete a maximum of two Terms of office of three years, plus a period on the Board as President, of either two years, or three years where the appointment is extended to meet a declared need pursuant to Article 33 above. The appointment to the Board as President may occur either during the two Terms or immediately following the two Terms, after which the person in question may not be re-elected or re-appointed for one year, when if appointed or elected, may serve for a similar period as a new Board member or President: Motion carried.

Listen to AGM 2019

RSGB AGM and awards

RSGB AGM afternoon

Download AGM 2019 minutes
Minutes of the 92nd Annual General Meeting

2018 Awards

Founder’s Trophy Ian Pawson, G0FCT
Norman Keith Adams Prize Dave Crump, G8GKQ
Courtenay-Price Trophy Heather Lomond, M0HMO, Derek Kozel, MW0LNA and John Worsnop, G4BAO
Ostermeyer Trophy Rubens Fernandes, VK5FE
Bennett Prize  Brian Austin, G0GSF
Wortley-Talbot Trophy Martin Sach, G8KDF
Kenwood Trophy Alison Hughes, M6COV and Derek Hughes, G7LFC
Harold Rose Plate Peter Taylor, G8BCG
Don Cameron, G4STT Award  Chris Page, G4BUE
Louis Varney Cup Peter Gülzow, DB2OS
Fraser Shepherd Award Phil Crump, M0DNY, Graham Shirville, G3VZV, Dave Crump, G8GKQ and Noel Matthews, G8GTZ
Special Award Steve Telenius-Lowe, PJ4DX, Mike Dennison, G3XDV, Tex Swann, G1TEX and Giles Read, G1MFG
Special Award RSGB National Radio Centre Volunteer Team
Jack Wylie Trophy Stuart Cooper, GM4AFF
Jock Kyle Memorial Jack Hood, GM4COX and Andy Sinclair, MM0FMF
Calcutta Key Nick Henwood, G3RWF


2018 Club of the Year regional winners

Region 1     Cockenzie and Port Seton Amateur Radio Club
Region 3     Chester and District Radio Society
Region 4     Denby Dale Amateur Radio Society
Region 5     Telford and District Amateur Radio Society
Region 7     Aberystwyth Radio Club
Region 8     Bush Valley Amateur Radio Club
Region 9     Newbury and District Amateur Radio Society
Region 10   Hilderstone Radio Society
Region 11   South Bristol Amateur Radio Club
Region 12   Essex Ham Amateur Radio Team
Region 13   Worksop Amateur Radio Society


Presentation: an introduction to QOscar 100

After the formal AGM proceedings and the trophy presentations, attendees were treated to an introductory talk on QOscar 100.

Noel Matthews, G8GTZ, Dave Crump, G8GKQ and Phil Crump, M0DNY gave an introduction to Qatar Oscar 100, the geostationary amateur transponder on the Es’hail-2 commercial satellite.

QOscar 100, which was launched in February, has already seen many stations making contacts across a third of the globe on the narrow band and wide band DATV transponders.

The presentation is now available to download (33-page/3.06MB PDF) and includes a brief history of the project, an overview of equipment required to operate Oscar 100 and an introduction and demonstration of the web SDR and spectrum monitor—which allow you to listen to stations on the narrow band segment using only a standard web browser.

There’s also a recording of the presentation on this page, under Listen to AGM 2019.

Play the afternoon recording and the presentation starts 20 minutes and 41 seconds in.