AGM 2018

Jurys Inn Hotel, 245 Broad Street, Birmingham

Jurys Inn Hotel, Birmingham

The 91st AGM was held in Birmingham on Saturday, 21 April 2018.

•  Resolution 1: To receive and, if approved, confirm the Minutes of the 90th Annual General Meeting held on 22 April 2017 at the Angel Hotel, Cardiff : Motion carried

 To receive and consider the accounts for the period 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2017 and the reports of the Board and the Auditor.

•  Resolution 2: To appoint Auditors Sayer Vincent and to authorise the Board to fix their remuneration: Motion carried

•  Resolution 3: To elect Philip Willis, M0PHI as a Nominated Director of the RSGB to serve until the 2020 AGM: Duly endorsed (see results and votes below)

•  Resolution 4: To elect two from Mark Jones G0MGX, James Preece M0JFP, Michael Senior G4EFO, and Simone Joanne Wilson M0BOX as Directors of the RSGB to serve on the Board: Duly elected (see results and votes below)

The following were duly endorsed/elected:

  • Nominated Board Director
    Philip Willis, M0PHI
  • Elected Board Director
    Simone Joanne Wilson, M0BOX
  • Elected Board Director
    Mark Jones, G0MGX

The number of votes cast in the Board elections were:

Board Candidate
 Board Candidate

•  Special Resolution 5: To amend the Articles of Association to effect the Board’s proposals to rename the Regional Managers/Regional Council Members as Regional Representatives (but retaining the arrangements for their election as at present), to transform the existing Regional Council and Leadership Team into a new body called the Volunteer Leadership Team: Motion carried

•  Special Resolution 6: To amend the Articles of Association by the insertion at Article 33 of the following, “If the office of President is vacant, or the elected President is indisposed and unable to fulfil the role of President, the Board shall have the power to co-opt a person it considers suitable for such a period as appears to the Board to be appropriate provided that the period shall end not later than the date of the next AGM”: Motion carried


Listen to AGM 2018

RSGB AGM and awards

RSGB AGM afternoon


Download AGM 2018 minutes


2017 Awards

Calcutta Key Dayton Amateur Radio Association
Founder’s Trophy John McCullagh, GI4BWM
Jock Kyle Memorial Ian White, GM3SEK
Jack Wylie Trophy Chris Tran, GM3WOJ
Courtenay-Price Trophy Dr John Rogers, M0JAV (EMC Chair) and EMC team
Ostermeyer Trophy Michael Booth, G8HKS
Norman Keith Adams Prize Noel Matthews, G8GTZ
Bennett Prize G8PF Chris Zeal, G4BGM
Wortley-Talbot Trophy Joe Taylor K1JT, Steve Franke K9AN, Bill Somerville G4WJS
Kenwood Trophy Essex Ham
Harold Rose Plate Jim Bacon, G3YLA
Fraser Shepherd Award David Powis, G4HUP (SK)
1962 Committee Cup Chris Deacon, G4IFX
Don Cameron G4SST Memorial Roy Kavanagh, GM4VKI

2017 Club of the Year regional winners

Small Clubs

Region 4    Hartlepool ARC
Region 7    Carmarthen ARS
Region 8    Greenisland Electronics ARS
Region 10  Chertsey Radio Club
Region 11  South Bristol ARC
Region 13  South Kesteven ARS

Large Clubs

Region 1    Cockenzie and Port Seton ARS
Region 3    Stockport Radio Society
Region 4    Durham and District ARS
Region 5    Wythall Radio Club
Region 8    Mid-Ulster ARC
Region 9    Reading and District ARC
Region 10  Hilderstone AR&EC
Region 11  Poldhu ARC
Region 12  Essex Ham
Region 13  Spalding ARS