RSGB Construction Competition 2024

The RSGB recognises the importance of construction as a key element of amateur radio, whether that is using traditional construction skills or a software or systems engineering project.

Entries to the annual RSGB Construction Competition will again be judged online. This will allow RSGB members from around the country and across the world to participate and demonstrate their creativity.


The judges will be considering entries in six categories:

  1. Beginners: a chance to build a kit or create your own equipment to help you take your first steps into amateur radio
  2. Construction excellence: recognising the skill and craftsmanship used in building your project
  3. Innovation: recognising an original contribution to the art and science of radio communication
  4. Software: recognising the importance of software technology to all aspects of amateur radio
  5. Antennas: an opportunity to design and build an antenna of your choice
  6. Most creative and/or elegant PCB Design: consideration will be given to designs with both artistic and engineering merit

The judges will choose the section in which an entry is judged and the number of prizes/awards, after they have looked at all of the projects submitted.

A cash prize will be awarded for the winner of each section, with a bonus for the overall winner, who will also be declared the winner of the Pat Hawker G3VA Award.

Special recognition

The judges will give special recognition to entries submitted by:

  1. Radio amateurs under the age of 24
  2. Those who have just gained their Foundation licence

How to enter

  1. Email a short description of your entry and up to four photographs to
  2. If you would also like to send a link to a video that demonstrates your entry working, that would be very helpful for the judges
  3. The deadline for us to receive your entry is 1 March 2024

The results of the competition will be announced during the 2024 RSGB Annual General Meeting in April.

See photos of the 2023 competition entries in June’s RadCom.