IARU Region 1 Conference Report

| September 25, 2014

RSGB Delegates this week attended the 23rd International Amateur Radio Union General Conference in Bulgaria. National societies from 43 countries covering Europe, Scandinavia, Asia and Africa sent representatives to agree and coordinate activity to secure the future of amateur radio.

Real progress was made at the meeting on a number of topics that are of key concern to UK radio amateurs. This came from getting people together over several days, and facing them with the realities that we need to protect our spectrum as well as address the declining numbers of active Radio Amateurs. It was heartening to see the real progress made by Lisa Leenders, PA2LS, the Region 1 Youth Coordinator in this latter respect. (pictured below with John Gould G3WKL, RSGB President)
The Conference reviewed the strategy of IARU Region 1, its finances and membership. It also reviewed the work of a number of permanent Committees, Working Groups and Co-ordinators, including EMC, Political Relations, Emergency Communications, Youth programmes, ARDF, Development of Amateur Radio in developing countries (STARS Working Group), Spectrum development and protection via ITU, CEPT & the World Radiocommunication Conferences (External Relations Committee), Intruder Watch, Space and High Speed Telegraphy.

Of particular importance was the amendment of the Terms of Reference for the EMC and Political Relations Committees that now provides a clear requirement for Region 1 to lobby at political, governmental and business levels on matters of EMC and related legislation and standards.

Conference also reviewed policy in the key spectrum areas of LF/HF and VHF/UHF/Microwave. Discussions extended over a range of areas, including band planning, contest, remote working and innovative developments in the areas of satellites and digital TV. The position on future World Communication Conferences was also discussed.

Conference considered and made recommendations in the areas of trans-border QSL management, responsible QSLing, malicious QRM, Youth Initiatives, copyright and article reproduction and CW procedures. A full report of the proceedings of the final Plenary will be published in due course on the IARU Region 1 web site (www.iaru-r1.org)

Conference elected a new Executive Committee to serve for the next three years. Don Beattie, G3BJ was elected IARU Region 1 President. Faisal Alajmi, 9K2RR was elected Vice-President. The Secretary remains as Dennis Green, ZS4BS, and the new Treasurer is Eva Thiemann, HB9FPM. Other members of the EC are: Ranko Boca, 4O3A, Thilo Kootz, DL9KCE, Dave Court, EI3IO, Ivan Stauning, OZ7IS, and Oliver Tabakovski, Z32TO.New EC 2014

The RSGB continues to play a role in the Working Groups and Committees, and the following were elected at the Conference:
Emergency Communications Coordinator: Greg Mossop, G0DUB
External Relations Committee Chair: Colin Thomas, G3PSM
Region 1 Amateur Radio Observation Service Coordinator: Mark Jones, G0MGX
HF Beacon Co-ordinator: Martin Harrison, G3USF
Satellite Coordinator: Graham Shirville, G3VZV

The next Conference in 2017 will be near Munich.

Category: RSGB Notices, Uncategorized