AGM 2020 Proceedings

The 93rd Annual General Meeting of the Radio Society of Great Britain to be held on Saturday 25 April 2020 was cancelled because of government restrictions on travel and public meetings due to the coronavirus Covid-19 pandemic.

The Board convened a meeting to receive the results of the votes submitted by the Society’s members on the resolutions and elections they were asked to consider in the Calling Notice. The results are summarised in these proceedings:

•  Resolution 1: To receive and, if approved, confirm the Minutes of the 92nd Annual General Meeting held on 27 April 2019 at the Jurys Inn Hotel, Birmingham and circulated to Members in the April 2020 RadCom: Motion carried 302/2

To receive and consider the accounts for the period 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2019 and the reports of the Board and the Auditor which were available online from 1 April 2020. Duly received

•  Resolution 2: To appoint Auditors Sayer Vincent and to authorise the Board to fix their remuneration: Motion carried 310/6

•  Resolution 3: To endorse Dr Stewart Bryant, G3YSX as a Nominated Director: Duly endorsed (see results and votes below)

•  Resolution 4: To elect two Directors—the candidates are Andy Mace, M0MUX; Len John Paget, GM0ONX; John Louis Spurgeon, G4LKD; and Philip Willis, M0PHI as Directors of the RSGB to serve on the Board: Duly elected (see results and votes below)

The following were duly endorsed/elected:

  • Nominated Board Director
    Stewart Bryant, G3YSX
  • Elected Board Director
    Andy Mace, M0MUX
  • Elected Board Director
    Len Paget, GM0ONX

The number of votes cast in the Board elections were:

Board Candidate
 Board Candidate


•  Special Resolution 5: To amend Article 32 of the Articles of Association as follows:

32. Board Directors

Unless otherwise stated at the date of appointment, elected and nominated Directors shall initially hold office for a term of three years. Elected Directors may serve two consecutive Terms but retire from the Board at the end of their second consecutive term for a minimum period of one year. Retiring Directors may seek election or be nominated after the period of one year for a similar period as a new Board member or President.

Nominated Directors shall normally serve up to one three-year term after which they may seek election (subject to term limits).

Retiring Directors may be co-opted under Article 37, by decision of the Board. Co-opted members, appointed under Article 37, shall retire at the Annual General Meeting after co-option, after which they may, (subject to term limits), stand for election or nomination.

Directors who have completed two consecutive three-year terms may be co-opted to the Board to fill any vacancy which may arise between AGMs and are not barred from holding office.

In exceptional circumstances, to fulfil a specific need, the Board may vary the above arrangements. Due notice will be published via RadCom.

Motion carried 294/18


•  Special Resolution 6: To amend Article 33c of the Articles of Association:

33c Nominations Committee

The Chair of the Nominations Committee shall be a suitably experienced independent Corporate Member of the RSGB (not a Volunteer Leadership Team Member) appointed by the Board.

The Nominations Committee shall additionally comprise one elected Director, one nominated Director (one of whom shall be the Chairman of the Board), and two members from the Volunteer Leadership Team, [one of whom shall be a Regional Representative and one of whom shall be from the rest of the Volunteer Leadership Team but not a Board member].The Nominations Committee shall regularly consider and identify suitable candidates for appointment as nominated Directors or other volunteer positions. The Committee shall maintain a confidential list of possible candidates and their curricula vitae in order to match candidates’ experience and expertise to the needs of the RSGB. The Committee shall submit to the Board those candidates proposed to be endorsed as Nominated Directors by the membership at an AGM.

Motion carried 294/16


•  Special Resolution 7: To amend Article 37 of the Articles of Association:

37 Short-term Board vacancies

The Board may appoint any Member who is willing to act as Director, either to fill a vacancy or as an additional Board Member, provided that the appointment does not cause the number of Board Members to exceed any number fixed by or in accordance with these Articles or Bylaws.

Directors who have completed two consecutive three-year terms may be co-opted to the Board and are not barred from holding office.

Any member co-opted to the Board must retire at the AGM following co-option or seek election or nomination.

Motion carried 286/21

Download AGM 2020 minutes


2019 Trophies and Awards

The full citations for the awards outlined below are on our special 2019 Trophies and Awards page.

Calcutta Key Murray Niman, G6JYB
Founders’ Trophy Murray Niman, G6JYB; John Regnault, G4SWX;
Barry Lewis, G4SJH and Dave Court, G3SDL/EI3IO
Jock Kyle Memorial David Anderson, GM6BIG
Jack Wylie Trophy Gavin Taylor, GM0GAV
Courtenay-Price Trophy Marcus Walden, G0IJZ
Ostermeyer Trophy Mike Stevens, G8CUL
Norman Keith Adams Prize Giles Read, G1MFG
Bennett Prize G8PF Jacek Pawlowski, SP3L
Wortley-Talbot Trophy Andrew Barron, ZL3DW
Kenwood Trophy Roger Cooke, G3LDI
Harold Rose Plate Dave Court, G3SDL/EI3IO
Louis Varney Cup Simon Brown, G4ELI
Fraser Shepherd Award Mike Willis, G0MJW; Paul Marsh, M0EYT and
Remco den Besten, PA3FYM
1962 Committee Cup Richard Staples, G4HGI
Don Cameron G4STT Memorial Colin Turner, G3VTT